Sunday, April 7, 2013

FREE Paranormal Romance Suspense Series

Over the past few days, I have been "away."  I went to Oregon, Chicago, Vegas and Canada.  I was knee deep in werewolf drama, romance and suspense.  I made some new friends and found a couple of packs to call home.  I saw new relationships form, new packs emerge, secrets unravel, deception amongst friends and allies.  It's been an exciting few days!

In Reality...

I've actually barely left the computer, much to hubby's dismay. One of my Facebook friends posted about the availability of a book series for FREE.  What I didn't know was that the author always keeps the books available for free with just the simple request of submitting a review and, if the reader felt inclined, to donate money to their local animal rescue or food bank.  That is awesome of Nicky Charles, since each book is a full length novel that undoubtedly takes much time to write, edit and then publish.

What hooked me in to this series was the way Nicky Charles writes.  You start to really develop a bond with the characters.  You feel their emotions and you want their happiness...and safety.  I easily became a fan during book one and devoured all five books in the course of three days.  Not only was the writing well done, but it has three of my favorite elements:  Love (and steamy sex scenes), Paranormal characters and Suspense.  I couldn't stop turning the pages, not knowing what would happen next, but desperately needing to.

Although the books can easily be stand-alones, because Nicky carefully explains key points in each book, (so the reader isn't lost), at the same time, you don't have to sit there wondering, "What happened to So-and-So" because Nicky has covered them in another book.  And, for me, that is a big deal because as I fall in love with characters, I hate not knowing what happens to them after I close the book.

Here's a basic run-down of the series, in the order that you should read them...

Starting with Bonded, we learn about Lycan Laws and the ways that the Lycans (werewolves) work to integrate the weres in to human society as well as cover up any possible "mistakes" that may cause humans to know of were existence.  The story revolves around Brandi and Reno.

Official  Book  Description on Amazon:  "Reno’s a tough Enforcer for Lycan Link who finds himself drawn to Brandi but duty rules his life. Brandi, just on the edge of starting her career as a Disaster Control officer, falls for Reno at first sight, but are they really meant to be? Is it love or lust and does it really even matter? Enforcers and DCs don't get along...unless fate forces them to."

After Bonded is Betrayed where a rogue were named Damien comes in to contact with a fae named Eve and a man who is part were and part fae, known as Dr. McRae.  The doc happens to be on a sabbatical, but when he's at work, he is a psychotherapist for rogue weres.  In this book, we learn more about Lycan Link and the rift between fae and werewolves.

Official  Book  Description on Amazon:  "His mate killed in a horrific explosion, ex-Enforcer Damien Masterson now lives as a rogue werewolf. Grief stricken and filled with rage, what depths will he sink to in his search for revenge? And who will be caught in the crossfire? Will it be Eve, a Fae just entering the Awakening stage? Or Rafe McRae, part empath and part wolf? It’s been said that a rogue Enforcer is too dangerous to be allowed to roam. A suspense driven story of love, betrayal and revenge, this latest addition to the Law of the Lycans series is the sequel to Bonded."

From Betrayed, we move on to The Mating.  In this book we meet Elise and Kane, who have been mated to form alliances between two Lycan packs.  For some packs, keeping up the old traditions is more important than love.  What starts out as an "arranged marriage" turns to so much more and by the end, the reader will find themselves thick in to the heart of Lycan life with an Alpha and his pack.  And, what started out as an alliance for political reasons, turns in to a love match for our main characters.

Official  Book  Description on Amazon:  "Elise had no idea when she came home that day that she'd end up mated to a complete stranger. A new Alpha and the need for an alliance between packs have made her a pawn Excerpt: She lay beside him, staring blankly at the ceiling. The deed was done. They were mated. It didn't matter that she had no love for him nor he for her. Political alliances were more important than feelings..."

The next book in the series is The Keeping where we learn more about Ryne, who we met in The Mating.  Ryne took a photograph of his brother, Kane, in wolf-form, and when that photograph is bought by an anonymous buyer, a whole chain of events takes place.  The Keeping is a law that prevents humans from finding out about the Lycans.  When a human investigative journalist is hired to find the photographer of the wolf, danger, deception and the possibility of a mass suicide lingers.   

Official  Book  Description on Amazon:  "Ryne Taylor was a sexy bad-ass Alpha set on establishing a new pack. Melody Greene was a journalism student researching his work as a photographer—or so she said. But could Mel really be trusted or had she stumbled upon his secret? And if she knew, could Ryne save himself and the pack he’d left behind without enacting a deadly ancient law known as The Keeping? Sequel to The Mating."

The fifth book is The Finding.  In some places, this is indicated as the third book in the series.  However, the author was compelled to share other story lines that changed the order and so, the order I've listed them here is the order they should be read in to keep it all clear.  Of course, you can read them in any order, but I found that going in the order shown here gives the series a better flow.  

In The Finding, Bryan is tracking a young wolf who was orphaned and is out there on her own without any guidance to her true self.  For awhile, she lives pretty much as a normal human.  However, as a millionaire heiress, there are many people watching out for her, trying to find her, besides Bryan and his pack.  Early on in the story, he finds her fairly easily, but as I pointed out...she is an heiress to millions, she is a werewolf and she has no pack.  More danger, more revelations and an ancient story of true mates adds much to this story.

Official  Book  Description on Amazon:  "She discovered a dark secret, witnessed a murder and fled into the night fearing for her life. Three years later, Cassie is still hiding from her past, haunted by a dream lover and fighting to control a terrifying beast that seems to grow stronger each day. When Bryan, pack Beta, appears to claim her, Cassie is forced to face the truth of her existence. Innocence, betrayal, greed and love collide with ancient werewolf laws in... The Finding."

To sum it all up... this an amazing series for those who love Romance, Paranormal and Suspense books.

I do want to make a few more points.  Again, each book can be read stand-alone.  However, since they are all free, why not just grab them all?  Also, the characters are lovable and you won't want to miss all of the various relationships as they build and grow around the challenges that come for them. 

This series doesn't look to be ending any time soon.  With each book, we meet new people, we revisit old friends and we learn more about the Lycan Laws.  Nicky Charles, the author, stated on her facebook page that typically one book per year is released.  The last being released in early 2013 means you may have to wait awhile for the next one.  Oh and again, EACH book is a full novel.

Nicky Charles can be found HERE and on  Facebook HERE 

***NOTE:  Please be sure to head back to Amazon and provide a review for each book! :) ***

Happy Reading!